Narrative Advanced Writing Workshop – Jan 2011, SF

Some FC members have a relationship Narrative; this could be a good opportunity for face time with an editor/publisher of literary geniuses. Good luck!


4-Day Intensive Workshop for Short Story Writers,
              Novelists, and Authors of Creative Nonfiction


The class will meet every day for four days, with a morning workshop and an afternoon seminar focused on craft. For the seminar, there will be reading assignments and study of works by well-known writers. Each participant will have one manuscript workshopped in class and a second manuscript reviewed for an individual conference with Tom. We will study storytelling and the formal elements of fiction, including voice, point of view, characterization, imagery, plot, and theme. Attention will also be given to scene building, sentence making, and the dramatic movement of descriptive writing.

Enrollment limited to 12 participants.

January 20 – 23, 2011

Application deadline: September 30, 2010

To apply or receive more information:

  • Please call 415-346-4477 and leave a message.
  • Or, send an email to Workshops.


    Rick Bass
    Richard Bausch
    Ann Beattie
    T. Coraghessan Boyle
    Janet Burroway
    Robert Olen Butler
    Italo Calvino
    Ron Carlson
    Michael Chabon
    Frank Conroy
    Don DeLillo
    E. L. Doctorow
    Andre Dubus
    Stuart Dybek

    Jennifer Egan
    Richard Ford
    William Gass
    Donald Hall
    Ron Hansen

    Charles Johnson
    Ken Kesey
    Min Jin Lee
    Bernard Malamud
    Peter Matthiessen
    Jill McCorkle
    Jay McInerney
    James Alan McPherson
    Arthur Miller

    Susan Minot
    Lorrie Moore
    Maud Newton
    Joyce Carol Oates
    Tim O’Brien
    Ann Pancake
    Jayne Anne Phillips
    George Plimpton
    Padgett Powell
    Annie Proulx
    Mark Richard
    Tom Robbins
    Philip Roth
    James Salter
    Bob Shacochis
    Lee Smith
    Debra Spark
    Scott Spencer
    Robert Stone
    Elizabeth Tallent
    John Updike
    Kurt Vonnegut
    John Edgar Wideman
    Joy Williams
    Tom Wolfe
    Tobias Wolff
    Richard Yates
    Alexi Zentner

    iSTORIES | RSS | NARRATIVE PRIZE | A Nonprofit Publication of Narrative Press

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *