FCC’s Future of Media Workshop, April 30

This could be fascinating, lots of big names participating. Will broadcast live at www.fcc.gov/live. Details below.




Washington, D.C. — As part of its project on the Future of Media and the Information Needs of Communities, the Federal Communications Commission will hold a workshop on April 30, 2010, from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the Commission Meeting Room, Room TW-C305, at 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C., on noncommercial media entitled “Public and Other Noncommercial Media in the Digital Era.” The workshop will focus on:

o Evolving business and organizational structures of public and other noncommercial media entities and the ways these are impacted by government policy; o The ways in which public and other noncommercial media entities do and could contribute to the information needs of communities across multiple platforms, focusing in particular on journalism, cultural, and educational content; o The possibilities for greater collaboration among noncommercial media entities such as public broadcasters, PEG channels, noncommercial web-based outlets, and other new media entities; o The role of public and other noncommercial media in serving the information needs of the underserved, including minorities, children, the disabled, and the economically disadvantaged; o The infrastructure needs and assets of public and other noncommercial media in delivering information to communities; o Innovative uses of social media, gaming, Internet applications, citizen journalism, mobile technologies, and other technological and organizational innovations; and o The possibilities for new kinds of noncommercial media networks and associated funding models. (See Press Release dated March 31, 2010).

The workshop is open to the public, with seating available on a first-come, first-served basis. It will also be broadcast live over the Internet from the FCC Live web page at www.fcc.gov/live. Questions from the Internet audience can be submitted throughout the course of the workshop via e-mail to futureofmedia@fcc.gov and via Twitter using the hash tag #FOMwkshop.

Agenda and Panelists (All times EST; Panelists in alphabetical order)

9:00 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

Chairman Julius Genachowski Steven Waldman, Senior Advisor to FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski, (Moderator) Ellen Goodman, Professor, Rutgers School of Law and Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Future of Media Project (Co-Moderator)

9:15 a.m. Framing Presentation: A 1967 Moment… A Vision for Public Media

Luis Ubiñas, President, Ford Foundation (Taped address) Ernest Wilson, Chair, Corporation for Public Broadcasting

9:30 a.m. Panel Discussion I: Varieties of Public and Noncommercial Media

Patricia Harrison, President and CEO, CPB Jose Luis Rodriguez, Founder & CEO, Hispanic Information and Telecommunications Network (HITN) Jan Schaffer, Executive Director, J-Lab, The Institute for Interactive Journalism Vivian Schiller, President & CEO, NPR (Via Remote Video) Hari Sreenivasan, Correspondent, NewsHour Presenter: Sue Schardt, President, Association of Independents in Radio

10:45 a.m. Panel Discussion II: Purposes of Public and Noncommercial Media

David Fanning, Executive Producer, Frontline James T. Hamilton, Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University Paula Kerger, President, Public Broadcasting Service Randolph J. May, President, The Free State Foundation James O’Shea, Editor & Co-Founder, Chicago News Cooperative cont’d from previous post.

1:00 p.m.Panel Discussion III: New Platforms, Approaches and Structures

Joaquin Alvarado, Senior Vice President for Digital Innovation, American Public Media Bill Buzenberg, Executive Director, The Center for Public Integrity Maxie Jackson III, President and CEO, National Federation of Community Broadcasters Nan Rubin, Chairperson of the Board, Prometheus Radio Project Jake Shapiro, Executive Director, Public Radio Exchange (PRX) Discussant: Kinsey Wilson, SVP and General Manager NPR Digital Media

2:15p.m. Panel Discussion IV: New Strategies for Supporting Public and Noncommercial Media

Craig Aaron, Managing Director, Free Press Orlando Bagwell, Director, Freedom of Expression, Ford Foundation Dean Baker, Co-Director, Center for Economic and Policy Research Lee Bollinger, President, Columbia University Steve Coll, President, New America Foundation

3:30 p.m. Panel Discussion V: Communications and Regulatory Policy

Rod Bates, General Manager, Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Terry Clifford, Co-CEO, SRG/ Station Resource Group Susan Harmon, Managing Director, Public Radio Capital Ken Ikeda, Executive Director, Bay Area Video Coalition (BAVC) Bill Kling, President & CEO, American Public Media Craig L. Parshall, Senior Vice President & General Counsel, National Religious Broadcasters

5:00 p.m. Adjournment

Open captioning of the workshop will be provided. Other reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities are available upon request. Please include a description of the accommodation you will need, and a way that we can contact you if we need more information. Last-minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to fill. Send an e-mail to fcc504@fcc.gov or call the Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau at 202-418-0530 (voice), 202-418-0432 (tty).

For further information, contact Krista Witanowski, Media Bureau, (202) 418-2449.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *